Homemade Christmas tokens

This year, being on a stringent budget, I looked for ways to economically spread Christmas cheer to those I love. The following is how I chose to tackle that challenge…

IMG_1205Every year Corporate America does a thorough job of making me feel guilty that I can’t afford to lavish my loved ones in elaborate, expense gifts to stimulate the economy. This year, I decided to spread good will with batches of home-made cookies, in a jar.IMG_1206

The first step was to acquire the recipe and ingredients and wash the jars. As I had no funnels, I created one by cutting a paper plate and taping it into a cone with a large hole in the center.

IMG_1207I poured in 2 cups flour, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 3/4 cup of brown & white sugar, compacting them at each layer. Then I topped it off with chocolate chips.

IMG_1209To make the jars look festive, I grabbed some seasonal fabric from the craft store and cut squares that would fit under the lid. Then I taped some decorations under it.

IMG_1211Instructions were printed and placed under the jar lid that read:

Add 1 cup butter or margarine (softened)IMG_1210

1 egg, slightly beaten

1sp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Thoroughly blend together butter, egg, & vanilla. Empty jar of mix into mixture. Mix until completely blended and drop teaspoons full of batter about 2” apart and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until lightly browned.

IMG_1212Lastly, I had to test it of course! I find that the ingredients don’t mix quite as well after being compacted in a jar, but the end product is still delicious.

I saved this post for after the holidays, as I didn’t want to ruin the surprise. In retrospect, I could have given out cards or something, but hope that the 3 evenings worth of labor mean more Winking smile

Leave a Reply

