Bowlby Bash & Derby 2013

It was a long, 3-day weekend, and I was determined to make the most of it. I think I made too much of it, but that’s what life is all about, right?

IMG_6648I had a fun event to attend with my son, but had to get some work done first. While I wanted to work on the 4-wheeler, I made myself get some other tasks done to earn it. First, I helped my buddy erect his new antenna. As amateur radio (Ham’s) operators, these often determine the capabilities of that hobby. We bolted his to the well-anchored clothesline pole, and laid ground-plane wires in his lawn with a shovel-activated lift-and-tuck method. We didn’t finish all the wires, but he was grateful for the help.IMG_6653

Next, I took my bench grinder I picked up at a flea market, and built a stand for it. Now I have a portable grinding station, which I then used to fix 3 of my chainsaw chains with. (Not the cutting teeth, but the rakers.)

After cleaning out my wood-stacking area, I permitted myself to work on the 4-wheeler. (See Part 2 here). Saturday was to be the Bowlby Bash.

IMG_6684In recent years, Enterprise has hosted the ‘Bowlby Bash,’ named for the Bowlby stone that comprises much of its downtown. The highlight of this street fair (for us) is the soapbox derby.IMG_6682

We started at one end of main street, picking up a snow cone, and perusing the festivities. There were lots of hand-crafted arts, but not much to grab the attention of my son, so we made quick progress down to the ‘show and shine’ where the cars were on display.

IMG_6688There are 2 classes, adults and not. Some are “in it to win it” but many build for artistic fun and small business rivalry. I appreciated the lack of serious competitiveness. While there are some loose rules, it’s not dozens of aerodynamic lookalikes.

They had a quaint parade up and down the strip, while we ate our lunch of bratwurst and root beer floats. (SO irresponsible, I know, but that’s what makes it special.) We also got to bump into a few old friends my son knew from school.

I could give you a play-by-play of the 4-hour event, but pictures are so much easier!

Enjoy!

IMG_6726IMG_6700IMG_6702

IMG_6705IMG_6711IMG_6746

IMG_6699IMG_6690IMG_6691

One response to “Bowlby Bash & Derby 2013

  1. LOL, I’ll take that kind of soap box derby any day of the week, looks alot more fun :).

Leave a Reply

