A DIY Christmas Poem

IMG_2943Twas the day before Christmas Eve and in my kitchen at home, lay the remnants of a faucet, pretending to be chrome.

Birdy was baking and cleaning with care, in hopes that visitors soon be there.

With the other parents, the children were away, so we were gearing up for a quiet holiday.IMG_2946

When at my work desk, my phone it did clatter, then I came home to see what was the matter.

The house smelt of gingerbread, sugar, & spice, betraying that things were anything but nice.

When, what to my wondering eyes should see, but a kitchen faucet nearly broken in three.

With the plastic broken, sheared off without care, I knew in a moment there was no hope for repair.

IMG_2949More rapid than old folks, we did not tarry, only to find kitchen faucets the store didn’t carry!

Isle 1, isle 2, isles 3, 4, 5, 6… this hardware store I had to nix.

To the top of River, and Highway 82 we tore, to our nearest Ace Hardware store.

I heard them remark, as I left their sight, “It looks like he’ll have a long night…”

IMG_2951

Yep, that was fun. On the bright side I have a new kitchen faucet (made of metal) with the addition of a sprayer, just in time for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

